Trying to make it through life with His help.

Being First….?

Scarves

I’ve been crocheting scarves lately, and had decided it would be a good way to keep myself busy and make a few bucks. So, off I went, crocheting up a storm and doing relatively well in sales.

Last night, as I had a scarf to finish up, I decided to listen to a sermon from one of my favorite preachers, Robert Morris. So, I selected last Sunday’s sermon, “The Principle of First”. I thought it sounded familiar, but decided to listen to it anyway. Sure enough, as I listened, it was the same sermon I had heard before. But, figuring that the Lord had a plan, (even though I was tempted several times to skip to another sermon), I kept listening.

The sermon is about how we should always keep God first in our lives. We give Him our first and our best, as He gave His first and best to us. It is our tithe, the first 10% of everything we receive as an increase. When we don’t give Him our first, we’re stealing it from Him and it is cursed. Throughout the sermon, I kept thinking, “But I do this already. I don’t understand why I’m sitting here listening to this again.” Then, at the very end, Robert asked us to pray, “Lord, show me what You want me to do with this.”

And, I did.

And, He did.

I’ve been selling my scarves and have made some pretty good money doing it. But, and I’m ashamed to admit it, it hadn’t even occurred to me to give any of it to the Lord. Sure, my paycheck, no problem. But this is extra money, something different… I don’t know why, but it just didn’t click in my head as being ‘tithe-worthy’… So, right then, I logged on to the online banking site and sent a check to my church to cover what I had made from selling my scarves. Granted, in the scheme of things, it wasn’t that much. But what it was belonged to Him. Not me.

Please understand, I don’t tell you this to sound righteous or holier than thou or to even pat myself on the back. I simply feel – and have been directed to do so – I need to write it down. I feel that my actions, or lack there of, may help another some day when they read my blog. I am so very far from where He wants me to be, but I’m a lot closer than I had been several years ago when my life was a mess and I didn’t really even realize it. (Sad, but true.)

Are you giving your First to the Lord? It takes FAITH to give Him His first and then pay your bills. But you’ll be blessed when you do. All you have is His anyway. Why steal it by keeping it and having it cursed?

Click the link above and watch the sermon. If you’re on the fence about all this, or don’t understand it all, listen and you’ll learn. Robert puts things in terms we all can understand. And he’s funny, too!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

