Trying to make it through life with His help.

Being: An Adult

Ya know… there are a few people on my Facebook friends list who have, especially recently, taken a break from social media. I wouldn’t consider myself addicted to it, I will confess I enjoy keeping up with friends from my past and present. While I most certainly do not agree with everything they post – especially morally and politically – it’s their page, and they can post what ever they want. Right? I mean, everybody has their own opinion and I will always fight for their righ to have it, even if I think, (in my ‘infinite wisdom’! lol), that they’re wrong.

If you’ve read any of my blogs before, you will surely have discerned that I’m a Christian. And as a Christian, I try my best to act like one. Every once in a while, something will slip out or happen that doesn’t especially follow the Christian path, but, there is only One Who is perfect, and I am most certainly not He. I say all of this to ask: If you follow my blog, would you really expect me to not post things that reflect my opinions and values? And, if you know me personally, how could it come as any surprise to you that I talk about the One who sustains me on a daily basis, even when I don’t always do what I’m supposed to do?

Since moving home to Nashville, I have found it extremely difficult to find a church home. Somewhere, where everything I need and want in a church comes together. I understand that I’m not going to find what I had in Georgia, and that I need to find a new normal. I’ve also found it difficult to find Christian friends, those with whom I can build a trusting relationship, sharing things I’m going through and get good, solid Christian advice. I’m not saying I don’t have any Christian friends here. Indeed, I have a wonderful and true Christian friend here in Tennessee. And, she’s great. We just don’t get to hang out as much as either of us would like…. (Geography. ugh!)

I’m getting a bit off topic here.

The main reason I wanted … no, needed to write this down, is that today I was told that someone at work I considered to be a friend talks about the things I post on my Facebook page. (Apparently she thinks I’m stupid, naive and no telling what else). She and I are polar opposites in pretty much every way, but, for me, that doesn’t matter. I like her, we just don’t agree on everything. But, she’s extreme, and I am not. Again, though, it doesn’t matter to me. I like her. Admittedly, I have hidden several of her posts because I don’t want to see them in my newsfeed. But for her, they’re nothing but the truth. Which, ok, that’s fine, I don’t have to like it OR see it. I guess it just bothers me that she can’t take me for who I am and what I believe without having to try and discuss it with some of our mutual friends. Creating drama is not something I strive to do. But, apparently, she thrives on it. Something I just hadn’t realized until talking with someone today.

I know, without a shadow of a doubt, that the Lord put me where I am to be His light in the place I work. But lately, it’s been harder and harder to ‘shine’. It’s like I can feel the darkness closing in on me day by day. But, can’t we just be adults and leave all the crap behind? Just grow up and stop being offended, or trying to change others’ minds? Have an adult conversation, or discussion, without trying to beat the other person up verbally just to feel superior?! Honestly, I don’t blame people for taking a break from social media. It does get tiresome. I might have to try it soon. The people who know me, know how to get in touch with me, and that’s all that matters, right?

Have you taken a social media break? Were you glad you did?
What changed during and after the break?
How long was the break?

Would you like to take a break? I think I would. Yes. I think I would.

As always, Thanks for listening.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

